The Sabine County Hospital District was created in May, 1975 during the 64th Session of the Texas Legislature for the purpose of establishing a hospital or a hospital system within its boundaries to furnish hospital and medical care to the residents of the district. This district provides all necessary hospital and medical care for the needy inhabitants of the district. It is governed by a board of five directors elected from within the District.  


The first Board of Directors included: 

Leon H. Adickes – President 
Hollis J. Vickers – VP/Treasurer 
James R. Young – Secretary 
Elton H. Mayfield – Member 
Jesse M. Cummings – Member